My Inaugural Prayer Discomfort: An Analysis of Rick Warren’s Invocation

Well, hello and welcome back!

I have been gone for quite some time, and the only excuse I can reasonably muster at the moment is that I was frantically working on the end of my last semester of my undergrad, and had no time to blog, although such a claim is basically a lie, as I have had plenty of time, and have just not had the motivation. However, public confessions are neither important nor prudent in the world of blogging, and as such, I will cease and desist. Rather, I have a more inclusive plan. I will begin my journey out of the blogging wilderness and into the paradise the online community by posting articles I come across that mirror my feelings on a particular subject, thereby re-infusing my desire to blog, while mitigating the effort it takes for me to actually pen a posting myself.

So where do I begin? How about at the most recent occasion of wonder and confusion? Two days ago, Barack Obama was sworn in as the 44th President of the United States of America. While I understand that the pomp and ceremony of the inauguration is steeped in religious significance, I am still slightly uncomfortable with the invocation and benedictions associated with State affairs. I know, I know, I am a godless heathen, but while the principles of a society may be based upon Judeo-Christian Principles, this does not mean we still subscribe to the traditions of Religiously run states, as was the traditional practice several hundred years ago. Nevertheless, I am not opposed to confessions of faith either. Just slightly uncomfortable. With this said though, I was initially quite put out by the choice of Rick Warren as the individual to present the invocation, as his policies and statements have traditionally been far from the beliefs and conceptions of Jesus Christ, and Divinity as a whole, of the vast majority of the population. However, I was not prepared for the drivel that poured from his pretentious mouth when he began to “pray”, so much so that I eventually got up and left the room. I was confused by the choice, and although did not question Obama for the order, was still left feeling somewhat revolted. This afternoon, while resting before a bite of lunch, I came across a wonderfully concise and pointed article by Maryscott O’Connor that placed the entire ordeal in perspective. I am much happier now, and can eat my lunch in peace. You can find the full text of her observations here. Enjoy. Until next time.

~ by maffersalmon on January 22, 2009.

3 Responses to “My Inaugural Prayer Discomfort: An Analysis of Rick Warren’s Invocation”

  1. Yay, you’re back!

    I know it’s impossible to say “Don’t let your religious affiliation inform your political convictions!”
    Still, I would prefer it if ceremonies like these were devoid of religious profession. I’m not talking about inclusivity (“Well, if the Christians do it, so should Jews, Muslims, Buddhists, etc.”) because I think that anyone who is NOT Christian is very unlikely to be voted in (unfortunately). I’m a big fan of Baruch de Spinoza (not that I agree with *everything* he said), and I feel like his ideas have never really been put to use. Religion and politics should at least *try* to operate in separate spheres…

  2. While equally brilliant and handsome we do differ in our opinions. I am thankful that our neighbor to the south is not ashamed to acknowledge the presence of a higher power.
    I agree that when one prays it should not be for the honor of men. Though it appeared to be, I hope this was not the case during the invocation.

  3. It is a very good article.I read it twice.It is very reliable article i really impressed with it. Nice post.Thank you for taking the time to publish this information very useful!

    thanks for sharing.. very useful for me i will bookmark this for my future needed. thanks for a great source.

Leave a Reply

 
